Community
EAGLE Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s EAGLE Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular EAGLE topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Datasheets in Library Device?

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
Anonymous
1337 Views, 15 Replies

Datasheets in Library Device?

Hi

I am kind of new to Eagle but wonder if there is a way to add datasheet to a library component? I am talking the datasheet you download say for something like an X5R capacitor. Rather than scrolling through hundreds of downloaded datasheets I want be able to click on the component and select from a small list of datasheets (X5R, X7R etc etc). It will be very organised this way.

-Andrew

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
JamesLE32J
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

It is possible but not in the way you are asking - or at least this is the way I do it.

What I do is create a link to the Datasheet (either online or in a local location) using the <a href></a> tag in the description which is then clickable.

See the image below for what I mean.

Datasheet Part.jpg

Message 3 of 16
rachaelATWH4

I add a DATASHEET attribute to the library part and use a ULP I created to add a context menu entry to launch the datasheet when right clicking on the device. My ULP is available in my GitLab repo but I am on my phone right now and don’t have the URL to hand. If nobody else jumps in with the link I will try and post it up tomorrow.

Best Regards,

Rachael
Message 4 of 16
JamesLE32J
in reply to: rachaelATWH4

Interested in seeing your ULP @rachaelATWH4. Searched but can't seem to find it.

Hope you're surviving the weather.

Message 5 of 16
rachaelATWH4
in reply to: JamesLE32J

Hi James,

@JamesLE32J wrote:

Interested in seeing your ULP @rachaelATWH4. Searched but can't seem to find it.

Here is a link to my ULP repository: https://gitlab.com/rachaelp/eagle-utils