Squadron Commander James Bird, O.B.E., F.R.Ae.S., M.Inst.N.A., R.N.A.S. (Retired), General Manager, Vickers-Armstrongs Ltd. (Supermarine Works).

Captain James Gordon Partridge BISSET, C.B.E., R.D., R.N.R. (Retired), Commo-dore Master of Cunard White Star Fleet.

Lewis Thomas Casson, Esq., M.C., lately Drama Director for the Council for the

Encouragement of Music and the Arts.

Councillor William Hugh Stobart CHANCE, Chairman, Smethwick Education Committee.

William Bertram CHRIMES, Esq., C.B.E., J.P., Director of Wartime Meals, Ministry of Food.

James Douglas COOKE, Esq., F.R.C.S., M.P., Member of Parliament for South Hammersmith since 1931. For political and public

Harold Stanford Cooper, Esq., F.C.A., Joint Managing Director, Ford Motor Company

James Temple Cotton, Esq., C.B., C.B.E. lately Under-Secretary, Ministry of Aircraft Production.

Herbert Henry Edmund CRASTER, D.Litt., F.S.A., Bodley's Librarian. Roydon Englefield Ashford DASH,

D.F.C., F.S.I., F.A.I., Chief Valuer, Board of Inland Revenue.

nomas Arthur EADES, Esq., F.C.I.S., F.R.S.A., Managing Director, Automatic Thomas Telephone and Electric Company Ltd.

John Charles Fenton, Esq., K.C., Sheriff Principal of the Lothians and Peebles.

Claude Dixon GIBB, Esq., C.B.E., Director General of Armoured Fighting Vehicles Production and Chairman of the Tank Board, Ministry of Supply.

John Watson Gibson, Esq., O.B.E., Director,

Pauling and Company, Ltd.,

Noel Barré GOLDIE, Esq., K.C., M.P., Member of Parliament for Warrington since 1931. For political and public services.

Arthur Charles HEARN, Esq., Oil Adviser to the Fourth Sea Lord.

Henry Thomas Holloway, Esq., Chairman of the Uniformity Joint Board in the Building and Civil Engineering Industries.

Charles Edward Inglis, Esq., O.B.E., LL.D., M.Inst.C.E., M.Inst.M.E., F.R.S., lately Professor of Mechanical Sciences, University of Cambridge.

John Johnston, Esq., Q.L., Member of Parliament for North Armagh in the Parliament of Northern Ireland since 1929. For political and public services.

Reginald Watson Watson-Jones, Esq., M.Ch., M.B., F.R.C.S., L.R.Č.P., Civilian Consultant to the Royal Air Force.

Gerald Festus Kelly, Esq., R.A., Painter.

Robert Letch, Esq., Regional Port Director, North Western Area, Ministry of War Transport.

Hugh Mackenzie, Esq., C.B.E., Provost of

Arthur Croke Morgan, Esq., President of the Council of the Law Society.

Albert Ralph REED, Esq., Paper Controller, Ministry of Supply.

Carlow REID, Esq. Production Charles Director, Ministry of Fuel and Power.

Gwilym Rowlands, Esq., C.B.E., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Flint since 1935. For political and public services.

Clarence Thomas Albert SADD, Esq., C.B.E., J.P., D.L., Vice-Chairman and Chief of the Executive, Midland Bank Ltd.

Edward William Salt, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Yardley division of Birmingham since 1931. For political and public services.

Andrew Denys Stocks, Esq., C.B., O.B.E., Legal Adviser and Solicitor, Ministry of

Legal Adviser and Fisheries.
Agriculture and Fisheries.
Locker Tennyson, Charles Bruce Locker Chairman of the Board of C.M.G., Governors, National Register of Industrial Art Designers.

Professor Frank TILLYARD, C.B.E., lately Chairman of Trade Boards, Ministry of

Labour and National Service.

Lieutenant-Colonel Myers Wayman, O.B.E., J.P., Chairman of the Emergency Committee, Sunderland.

DOMINIONS.

The Honourable Clifden Henry Andrew EAGER, K.C., President of the Legislative Council, and Member of the War Advisory Committee in the State of Victoria.

rigadier the Honourable George Hodges Knox, C.M.G., V.D., Speaker of the Legis-Brigadier

lative Assembly, State of Victoria.

Brigadier-General Raymond Lionel LEANE, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O., M.C., V.D., Commissioner of Police in the State of South

Australia, 1920-1944. For public services, dney Valentine Sewell, Esq., M.D., Ch.B., F.R.C.P., a prominent consulting physician in the State of Victoria.

INDIA.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Henry Benedict Linthwaite Braund, Barrister-at-Law, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, United Provinces, and lately Chairman of the Bengal Food Grains Policy Committee.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Alan Gerald Russell Henderson, Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judica-ture at Fort William in Bengal.

Frederick Wynne Robertson, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service (retired), Chairman of the Federal Public Service Com-

Chandulal Madhavlal Trivedi, Esq., C.S.I., C.I.E., O.B.E., Indian Civil Service, Secretary to the Government of India in the War

Department.

John Bartley, Esq., C.S.I., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Additional Secretary and Draftsman to the Government of India in the Legislative Department.

The Honourable Mr. Kenneth William MEALING, Member of the Council of State, Chairman of Directors, Messrs. Andrew Yule & Company, Limited, Bengal.

Noshirwan Phirozshah Engineer, Esq. Advocate-General India of and lately

Advocate-General, Bombay.

The Honourable Khan Bahadur Qazi Mir AHMED, Judge of the Judicial Commissioner's Court, North-West Frontier Province.

James Glasgow Acheson, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Political Service, Resident in Kashmir.

Richard Marsh Crofton, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Prime Minister, Bahawalpur