



8th COUNCIL OF EUROPE CONFERENCE OF MINISTERS RESPONSIBLE FOR MIGRATION AFFAIRS

Kyiv, 4-5 September 2008

Economic migration, social cohesion and development: towards an integrated approach

International Exhibition Centre Brovarskiy Avenue 15 Kyiv, Ukraine

PROGRAMME

Thursday, 4 September 2008

- 8.00 9.00 Registration
- 9.00 10.00 **Inaugural Session** (open to the press)

Mrs Yulia Tymoshenko, Prime Minister of Ukraine

Right Honourable Terry Davis, Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Mr Tobias Billström, Minister for Migration and Asylum Policy, Swedish Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe

Mrs Corien Jonker, Vice-President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Mr Yavuz Mildon, President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe

Election of the Chair of the Conference

Adoption of the Agenda

Introductory remarks on the Conference themes

Mr Brice Hortefeux, Minister for Immigration, Integration, National Identity and Development Partnership, French Presidency of the European Union

Mr Yurii Lutsenko, Minister of Internal Affairs, Ukraine

- 10.00 10.30 Coffee and family photo (Ministers/Heads of delegation)
- 10.30 12.30 Session I Economic migration and its management Keynote speeches

Ms Astrid Thors, Minister of Migration and European Affairs, Finland

Mr José Magalhães, Deputy Minister of the Interior, Portugal

Mr Konstantin Romodanovskiy, Director of the Federal Migration Service, Russian Federation

Debate

12.30 – 14.30 Luncheon hosted by Mr Alexander Vladychenko, Director General of Social Cohesion on behalf of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe in honour of the Ministers/Heads of delegation

Mr Yurii Lutsenko, Minister of Internal Affairs of Ukraine will host a luncheon for other participants

14.30 – 16.00	Session II – Economic migration and development
	Keynote speeches
	Mr Prokopis Pavlopoulos, Minister of the Interior, Greece
	Mrs Lyudmyla Denysova, Minister of Labour and Social Policy, Ukraine
	Debate
16.00 - 16.30	Coffee
16.30 – 18.00	Session III – Economic migration and social cohesion
	Keynote speeches
	Mr Peter Altmaier, Parliamentary State Secretary, Ministry of the Interior, Germany
	Mr Christer Hallerby, State Secretary, Ministry for Integration and Gender Equality, Sweden
	Debate
	Reflections on the debate
	Mr Thomas Hammarberg, Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe
18.15	Departure - restaurant

19.00 – 21.00 Official reception. *Chumatsky shliah* restaurant

Friday, 5 September 2008

9.00 - 11.00	Session IV – Towards an integrated approach
	Keynote speeches
	Mrs Nebahat Albayrak, Deputy Minister of Justice, Netherlands
	Mrs Annemie Turtelboom, Minister of Migration and Asylum Policy, Federal Government, Belgium
	Debate
11.00 - 11.30	Coffee

11.30 – 12.15 **Closing Session** (open to the press)

Adoption of the Final Declaration of the Conference

Closing remarks

- 12.15 Press Conference
- 15.00 European Parliamentary Forum on Economic Migration, Social Cohesion and Development (organised by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe Sub-Committee on Migration in co-operation with the European Parliament and the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine).