FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Contact: Candace Avery International Songwriting Competition 615.251.4441 press@songwritingcompetition.com www.songwritingcompetition.com

2017 INTERNATIONAL SONGWRITING COMPETITION (ISC) ANNOUNCES WORLD MUSIC JUDGES

Judges Include: Amadou & Miriam; Ziggy Marley; Femi Kuti; Trilok Gurtu; Martin Russell and James McNally (Afro Celt Sound System); Ashwin Batish; and More

August 8, 2017 – The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is proud to announce its World Music judges for the 2017 competition. Established in 2002, ISC is the world's largest songwriting competition, receiving up to 20,000 entries from all over the world.

Participating on the judging panel are some of World Music's most high-profile recording artists and industry executives, including: Amadou & Miriam; Ziggy Marley; Femi Kuti; Trilok Gurtu; Martin Russell and James McNally (Afro Celt Sound System); Ashwin Batish; and Jacob Edgar (Founder of Cumbancha).

Candace Avery, Founder and Director, says, "World Music encompasses so many various styles of music from around the globe, and our judges represent this diversity and ensure an international perspective. We are proud to have so many iconic World Music judges participating on the panel."

James McNally, one of this year's judges, is a musician, composer, and producer of the band Afro Celt Sound System. Having been a judge in previous years, McNally touts the competition and calls ISC "a truly unique competition that brings together and highlights incredible musical talent from all corners of the globe."

ISC is truly an international songwriting competition, receiving entries from 137 countries last year. ISC is open to all songwriters, amateur or professional.

A total of 71 winners in 23 categories share in more than \$150,000 in cash and prizes, including an overall Grand Prize consisting of \$25,000 (US) cash and much more in merchandise and services.

Entry information is available at <u>https://www.songwritingcompetition.com.</u>

ISC is sponsored by: AKG By Harman; Berklee College of Music; CAD; Celebrity

Access; D'Addario; Disc Makers; Eventric; Gig Salad; JBL Professional by Harman; Lurrsen Mastering; Merch Cat; ONErpm; PreSonus; SongU; and Sweetwater Sound.

The complete panel of 2017 judges include:

Recording Artists

Lorde; Perry Farrell (Janes Addiction / Founder, Lollapalooza); Tom Waits; Ziggy Marley; American Authors; Nancy Wilson (Heart); Martie Maguire (Dixie Chicks / Courtyard Hounds); Booker T. Jones; The Mavericks; Don Omar; Sara Evans; Bastille; Keane; Hardwell; Danilo Perez; Martin Russell and James McNally (Afro Celt Sound System); Billy Cobham; Gerald Casale (Devo); Zach Williams; Natalie Grant; Jesse & Joy; Krewella; Matt Nathanson; Amadou & Miriam; Matt Maher; Ana Barbara; Kaskade; Nicky Jam; Vijay Iyer; John Mayall; Art Alexakis (Everclear); Ray Benson (Asleep At The Wheel); Joe Louis Walker; Nicholas Gunn; Vassy; Ashwin Batish; Lonnie Liston Smith; Femi Kuti; Walter Trout; Trilok Gurtu; Tommy Chong; Tony Joe White; and more.

Industry Executives

Seymour Stein (Chairman/CEO, Sire Records); Afo Verde (Chairman, Sony Music Latin); Daniel Glass (President, Glassnote Records); John Esposito (Chairman/CEO, Warner Music Nashville); John Burk (President, Concord Label Group); Ed Vetri (President, Wind-Up Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Steve Yegelwel (Sr. VP, Island Records); Nate Albert (Executive VP of A&R, Capitol Records); Jacob Edgar (Founder, Cumbancha); Aaron Bay-Schuck (President of A&R, Interscope Records); Mike Easterlin (President, Fueled By Ramen / Roadrunner Records); Craig Balsam (Co-Owner, Razor & Tie / Washington Square / Kidz Bop); Gordon Kerr (CEO, Black River Entertainment); Josh Bailey (Senior VP of A&R, Word Entertainment); Richard Stumpf (CEO, Atlas Publishing); Steve Greenberg (CEO, S-Curve Records); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, New West Records); Albert Schilcher (VP Music & Music Marketing, MTV International); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Angel Carrasco (Latin Music Consultant); Julie Kertes (Editor/Manager, Hot Diggity Media); Laura Margolin (Publishing, Glassnote Records); Cyndi Nelson (General Manager, Zanies Comedy Club); Leib Ostrow (Founder/CEO, Music For Little People); Katherine Danes (Co-President, The Children's Music Network); Claire S. Green (President, Parent's Choice Foundation); Benjamin Groff (Founder, The Brill Building); Sas Metcalfe (President/Global Creative, Kobalt Music); Golnar Khosrowshahi (President, Reservoir Media Management); Carianne Marshall (Partner, Songs Music Publishing); Tamara Conniff (EVP, Roc Nation); Dara Frank (Head of Comedy Central Records, Viacom); Carl Caprioglio (Founder/CEO, Oglio Entertainment); and more to be announced.

########