Looking for recent topics?

Front brake help

ruger9two
Truck: 2005 F-150 XLT
My Truck Mods

Front brake help

Post by ruger9two »

Heard a noise while turning, it looks like the dust shield is now dragging the rotor. Lots of rust. I have a question:

I have replaced calipers before (and rotes and pads). But as I look at this, there doesn't seem to BE any room for a new dust shield? I'm asking because, I want to make sure something else hasn't gone wrong... like a bent tie rod or something pushing something out of alignment? I'm not a mechanic (obviously lol), but as I've said I've replaced calipers before, and was going to again... but if there's something more serious going on, I'll probably have it towed to the local and let them do it.

The outside rotor surface is fine, not sure about the inside surface, but the shield is dragging on it, so...

It's 2005, only 70K on it, but 15 New Jersey winters :(

I was doing it myself to save TIME more than money, this is my work truck. Pics are from the front, and from the bottom

GGALLIN1776
Truck: 1999 F150 XLT 4x4 Ext Iron Oxide Edition
My Truck Mods

Re: Front brake help

Post by GGALLIN1776 »

Yowsers batman.
Looks like any rubber left is begging to be put down.
Well the shield would be constant if that were the culprit. I'd still bend it back a bit closer to where it's supposed to be.
CT winters devoured mine so I just deleted them. 3 bolts then tin snips to clip the part with the least metal & maneuvered it off without damaging anything.

Can you record a video of the sound both stationary and while driving, post it on youtube then share the link here? It could be a few things.

All that loose rust on the components, knock it off with a few hammer taps. Just keep tapping until most of it drops, be mindful of not hitting any threads, etc. You'll have a much better view with that gone.
1999 F150 5.4 Triton XLT 4x4 with the "you better have a tetanus shot"option.